Rankin, Braithwaite and Killing Eve win Amazon Publishing Readers’ Awards

Rankin, Braithwaite and Killing Eve win Amazon Publishing Readers’ Awards

Crime heavyweight Ian Rankin, Booker longlisted Braithwaite and "Killing Eve" were among the winners of the 9 Amazon Publishing Readers’ Awards on Saturday night. 

Rankin triumphed to take home Best Mystery and Best Crime Novel with In A House of Lies (Orion) while Booker longlisted Oyinkan Braithwaite was awarded Best Debut for My Sister, The Serial Killer (Atlantic).  

The 2019 Amazon Publishing Readers’ Awards are a celebration of the crime and thriller genre and in a UK festival first, recognise excellence in film and television as well as books. The winners were decided by Capital Crime’s advisory board of authors, industry leaders and reviewers, but readers had the final say on won in each category.

Mick Herron's London Rules (John Murray) scooped Best Thriller while Stuart Turton's The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle – Read by Jot Davies (Audible Studios for Bloomsbury) won Best Audiobook. C L Taylor's Sleep (HarperCollins) triumphed in the Best E-Book category. Will Dean's Red Snow (Point Blank) completed the book award winners to scoop Best Independent Voice while Best Feature Film went to "BlacKKKlansman". 

Capital Crime co-founder David Headley said: "Capital Crime is all about the readers. With panels focused on entertaining and engaging, and events and parties that are open to all, it was only natural we give readers the ultimate say over who wins our awards."

Adam Hamdy, author and screenwriter, and co-founder of Capital Crime added: "Amazon leads the way in technology innovation and it’s fitting that our awards make use of new technology to put the power in the hands of crime and thriller fans."

The winners were announced at a ceremony at the inaugural Capital Crime event, which saw 600 people flock to London's Grand Connaught Rooms for three days of panels, author events and discussion with authors including Martina Cole, Lynda La Plante, Mark Billingham, Don Winslow, Robert Glenister and Abir Mukherjee.