Rankin and P D James pick up ITV3 awards

<p>The winners of the inaugural ITV3 Crime Thriller Awards were revealed at a ceremony on Friday night (3rd October), with authors including P D James and Ian Rankin winning prizes.<br /><br />The literary winners were: author of the year Ian Rankin for <em>Exit Music</em> (Orion); breakthrough author of the year Stuart MacBride for <em>Broken Skin</em> (Harper); and the international author of the year accolade was awarded posthumously to Stieg Larsson for his d&eacute;but novel <em>The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo </em>(Quercus).<br /><br />P J James was inducted into the International Crime Writing Hall of Fame alongside Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Dame Agatha Christie.<br /><br />The ITV3 writer&rsquo;s award for classic TV drama, voted for by viewers, was won by Inspector Morse author Colin Dexter.<br /><br />The other winners were: &quot;The Bourne Ultimatum&quot; for film of the year; &ldquo;Criminal Justice&rdquo; for TV crime drama of the year; and the final season of &ldquo;The Wire&rdquo; for international crime drama of the year. Hermione Norris and Rupert Penry-Jones won the best actress and actor awards for their roles in &quot;Spooks&quot;.<br /><br />The awards ceremony will be broadcast on ITV3 tonight (6th October).</p>