Quintet to contest Kim Scott Walwyn

Quintet to contest Kim Scott Walwyn

The Bookseller books and media editor Anna James, Faber editor Rebecca Lewis-Oakes, literary agent Jo Unwin, Taylor & Francis production archivist Brianna Corbett and CUP commissioning editor Nisha Doshi have been shortlisted for the Kim Scott Walwyn Prize in its 10th year.

Established in memory of Kim Scott Walwyn, a publishing director at OUP who died at the age of 45, the prize—administered by BookTrust—is open to women who have worked in publishing in the UK for up to seven years. It is the only award to recognise the professional achievements and promise of women in publishing.

Catherine Clark and Denise Johnstone-Burt, co-chairs of the judging panel, said of the candidates: “Their roles are all quite different but they all reflect the new realities of an industry adapting to the challenges and excitements of our digital age.”

The judges said Corbett had "impressed with the passion and resourcefulness she shows in her role as production archivist" while her "tenacity for detail has had a direct impact on workflow for the company". Lewis-Oakes was said to be "held in great esteem by her colleagues and authors alike, and will clearly be a driving force in the future of our publishing industry." James impressed the judges "not only with her 9-5 work" but also the "initiative to get involved and go above and beyond her remit". Nisha Doshi was praised for having "quickly established an exciting reputation on the forefront of not just academic publishing but publishing in general, working tirelessly to not only modernise medical and academic publishing but to push it into the future." Jo Unwin impressed the judges with her career change achievements, "particularly the rostrum of clients she has built and the relationships she has developed in such a short space of time." 

The winner—revealed at a ceremony in central London on 20th May—will receive £1,000 and a two-day training course at the Publishing Training Centre.

Also judging are Coronet's Nicki Crossley, Professor Dame Hermione Lee, Hodder & Stoughton's Anne Perry and Inspired Selection's Helen Youngs.