Quercus signs Lindy West

Quercus signs Lindy West

Quercus has acquired a book by Guardian columnist and GQ culture writer Lindy West.

Shrill will be a “laugh-out-loud portrayal of what it means to become self-aware the hard way, in a popular culture that is hostile to women (especially fat women) and doesn't think women (especially feminists) are or can be funny”.

Ione Walder, non-fiction editor, bought UK and Commonwealth rights from Rachel Clements at Abner Stein, on behalf of Gary Morris at the David Black Agency.

West said: “Women are told, from birth, that it's our job to be small: physically small, small in our presence, and small in our impact on the world. We're supposed to spend our lives passive, quiet, and hungry. With this book, I want to obliterate that expectation – with the humour and humanity I strive for in all of my work. It took me a long time to come to terms with my own bigness, but it's better over here, and I hope other women will join me. I'm so excited to get started.”

Walder said: “Lindy West's writing is extraordinary – hilarious, astute, self-aware, current and brilliantly provocative. It's so refreshingly unusual for comedy to be this empathetic and inclusive – making you nod along in vehement agreement, but not at anybody's expense, with nobody the butt of her jokes. I’m so thrilled to be publishing Lindy’s book in the UK. Fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham will not be disappointed.”

Quercus will publish Shrill in autumn 2016.