Quercus signs 'love story of 2020' in 'lightning-fast' pre-empt

Quercus signs 'love story of 2020' in 'lightning-fast' pre-empt

Quercus has pre-empted the “biggest emotional love story of 2020” by Rebecca Serle.

Emma Capron acquired UK and Commonwealth rights for In Five Years from Laura Bonner at WME, in what the agency described as a “lightning-fast” pre-empt. It will be published in hardback on 3rd March 2020.

Billed as perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Cecilia Ahern and Rosie Walsh, the book promises unexpected twists and to leave readers “questioning everything they thought they knew about destiny”.

Serle is an author and television writer who lives between New York City and LA. She most recently co-developed the television adaptation of her YA series Famous in Love (Macmillan Children’s Books) for Freeform and Warner Brothers Television.

Capron said: “Rebecca’s writing hooks you from the very first page, and her characters have something for everyone. While you think you know exactly where the novel is going, she took me completely by surprise with the biggest emotional twist I’ve read in a very long time. The whole company read this book virtually overnight, and we couldn’t be more thrilled to be publishing In Five Years next year.”

Serle added: “I am so honoured to be published by Quercus Books and to be in the hands of the brilliant Emma Capron. And I am thrilled to bring In Five Years to my UK readers. I hope you will love Dannie and Bella’s story.”