Publishers can now enter Warwick Prize direct

Publishers can now enter Warwick Prize direct

Publishers will be able to submit work directly for consideration for The Warwick Prize for Writing for the first time this year.

The winner of £25,000 biennial prize, which celebrates the best writing in English in all forms and disciplines, has previously been selected from a list nominated by faculty, students and staff from the University of Warwick and Monash University in Melbourne, Australia.

They will continue to be able to nominate works, as will alumni of both universities, but publishers will also be able to submit two titles per imprint.

This year's prize, with the theme of instinct, will be judged by a panel led by the writer A L Kennedy. Joining her will be author and academic Robert Macfarlane, actress and director Fiona Shaw, Lonely Planet founder Tony Wheeler, and physician and writer Gavin Francis.

Dr Sarah Moss, co-director of the Warwick Prize for Writing, said: "The Warwick Prize for Writing is unique in celebrating the best written English in any genre, prose or verse, print or electronic, polemic or simply beautiful. This is an exciting year for us as we invite submissions from publishers all over the world, and our judges will need all their instinct and experience to find the winner.”

Submissions for the prize must have been published between 1st April 2013 and 31st March 2015. They can be translations, provided that the work is the first English translation and was published for the first time within the stated prize period.

The announcement of the judges and theme was made at the Cheltenham Literature Festival on Saturday (11th October) as part of a special Warwick Prize event with Warwick Prize 2009 winner Naomi Klein, introduced by A L Kennedy.

Klein won the inaugural prize for her book The Shock Doctrine (Penguin). The 2011 prize was awarded to Peter Forbes for Dazzled and Deceived (Yale University Press) and in 2013 Alice Oswald became the first poet to win the prize, for her collection Memorial (Faber & Faber).

In addition to winning £25,000, the winner will be awarded the opportunity to take up a short placement at the University of Warwick.