Public vote opens for h.Club 100

Public vote opens for h.Club 100

Canongate c.e.o. Jamie Byng, literary agent Juliet Mushens, Goldsboro Books’ owner David Headley and author Malorie Blackman are among the shortlist for the publishing and writing category of the h.Club 100 campaign to find the most influential and innovative people in the UK’s creative industries.

The awards, formally known as The Hospital Club h.Club 100 in partnership with the Creative Industries Council, are now in their seventh year and honour people in 10 categories, with 10 winners in each category.

A public vote is now open, with the entry receiving the most votes becoming one of the category winners. The remaining nine winners will be selected by a judging panel, which for the publishing and writer category is made up of Philip Jones, editor of The Bookseller; Simon Trewin, head of the literary division of WME in the UK; Damian Horner, brand development director at Hachette UK; and Richard Mollet, chief executive of The Publishers Association.

Also making the publishing and writing shortlist are Transworld’s Bill Scott-Kerr, Fourth Estate’s David Roth-Ey, blogger and author Ella Woodward, Creative Access chief executive Josie Dobrin, and World Book Day director Kirsten Grant. Illustrator Sarah McIntyre is shortlisted for her work on the Pictures Mean Business campaign.

Touchpress executive producer Louise Rice is also on the list, as is Perminder Mann, m.d. of Kings Road Publishing, a newly-created division of Bonnier Publishing.

Lynsey Dalladay, Rose Poole and Rhiannon Griffiths are shortlisted collectively for their work on Dead Good Books, Penguin Random House’s crime community.

Riot Communications’ founder Preena Gadher and Peter Florence, director of Hay Festival, are also on the list.

Completing the list are Lauren Laverne and Sam Baker, co-founders of The Pool; broadcaster and author Simon Mayo; co-founder and editor of business magazine Courier Soheb Panja; Good Housekeeping’s editorial director Lindsay Nicholson and Twitter’s Sunil Singhvi.

The winners will be awarded at a ceremony at the Hospital Club Studio in London on Thursday 1st October.

Last year’s publishing and writing winners were Folio Prize founder Andrew Kidd; Andy Quinn and Sion Hamilton from Foyles; author Caitlin Moran; Unbound c.e.o. Dan Kieran; Hannah Telfer, Penguin Random House UK’s group director, consumer and commercial development; Jason Seiken, chief content officer and editor-in-chief of The Telegraph; Kate Wilson, m.d. of Nosy Crow; Lucy Yeomans, editor-in-chief of PORTER; Luke Lewis, UK editor of BuzzFeed; and author Nikesh Shukla.

The public vote for this year’s h.Club 100 closes on 14th September.