PRH's Roy McMillan wins Best Audiobook title at RPAs

PRH's Roy McMillan wins Best Audiobook title at RPAs

Roy McMillan of Penguin Random House has won the award for ‘Best Audiobook/ Readings Producer' at this year’s Radio Production Awards (RPAs).

McMillan (pictured left with Nicholas Briggs) commissioned and produced audio editions of Roald Dahl's short stories for adults read by a cast of A-list acting talent including Derek Jacobi, Richard Griffiths, Richard E Grant, Stephen Mangan, Tamsin Greig, Gillian Anderson, and Cillian Murphy.

Other shortlistees for the award recognising "outstanding achievement in audiobook production" included Daryl Chapman at the Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB), Hannah Marshall and Loftus Media, Holly Newson at Listening Books and Peter Curran at The Foghorn Company.

McMillan told The Bookseller: "It’s an honour to even be in the company of such audio heroes; and the award recognises the range and volume of audio that Penguin Random House publishes – from effect-filled children’s titles to multi-voiced thrillers, to expert non-fiction. I think the fact that this was a new award this year shows a growing appreciation of what great audiobooks have to offer, and how they are becoming a part of people’s general experience of what a book can be."

The awards ceremony hosted yesterday evening (24th November) at London’s Hippodrome, celebrated 75 production teams for their work in radio, with the special Gold Award, sponsored by Audible, given to Cabin Pressure producer David Tyler of Pozzitive.

Organised by the Radio Independents Group (RIG), with support from the Radio Academy, the event was hosted by BBC Radio 1 presenter Gemma Cairney and featured special sets from singer Nell Bryden and comedian Jake Yapp. Guests presenters included Radio 1 presenters Goldirocks and Clara Amfo, as well as Dotun Adebayo, Roger Bolton, Sue McGregor and journalist and presenter John McCarthy.

Two awards went to the team on the Christian O’Connell Breakfast Show, with Chris Skinner receiving ‘Best Multi-Platform Creator’ and Richie Firth receiving the ‘Presenter Hero’ award. TBI Media was named ‘Indie of the Year’ for projects such as "Battle of Britain at 75" and production staff from indie company Whistledown also won three awards. Roundhouse Radio, meanwhile, won the new ‘Best Grassroots Production’ award, which encourages the participation of new and diverse talent in radio production.

Now in its sixth year, the RPAs recognise and celebrate the production skills of radio and audio producers based in the UK or supplying UK-based broadcasters from overseas. This year’s nominees included 26 different indies, there were also 12 nominations for the BBC and 10 for commercial radio.

RIG’s managing director Will Jackson said: "Another amazing Radio Production Awards night has once again demonstrated the exceptional quality of audio production in the UK, both from the wide range of indie companies across the country, and from in-house teams including the BBC and Bauer Media. I'm particularly pleased that our new 'Grassroots Production' award highlights organisations working with new production talent, meaning the sector is well-placed to rise to the significant opportunities on offer in the coming years."

Steve Carsey, head of original programming at Audible UK, said: “We’re delighted to be able to celebrate the vibrancy and creativity of the UK’s independent audio production sector by supporting this award. Our work creating, commissioning and shaping new audio programming means we get to work with some of the best talent in the business. So it’s great to be able to help recognise the difference those outstanding individuals make through the Gold Award.”


Picture: Nick Edwards