First Black Mirror authors revealed

First Black Mirror authors revealed

Penguin Random House has announced the authors of Charlie Brooker's first volume of all-new "Black Mirror" fiction are New York Times bestseller Cory Doctorow, Carnegie-nominated Claire North and Sleeping Giants author Sylvain Neuvel. 

Each author will provide their own all-original novella-length story in the style of the show, with "soon to be revealed" plotlines. 

Referred to by Jake Lingwood, Ebury Publishing deputy m.d. and publisher, as "some of the smartest, sharpest novelists around", Canadian LA-based author Doctorow, co-editor of blog and zine Boing Boing, wrote NYT bestseller Little Brother (HarperVoyager) and is next publishing a new science-fiction novelWalkaway, with Head of Zeus (HoZ ) in the UK. North, real name Catherine Webb, is the author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August (Orbit), and Neuvel is the author of the Themis Files trilogy comprising debut Sleeping Giants (Michael Joseph), which made the inaugural Glass Bell Award longlist and has been optioned by Sony Pictures for development.

The first of the three-volume series of original fiction, edited by the creator of the hit Netflix show, Charlie Brooker, is publishing with Ebury Publishing imprint Del Rey in February 2018, which worldwide deal was revealed in June. Penguin Random House will co-publish the books in the UK and in North America under the Del Rey UK and Del Rey imprints, while foreign rights have sold in Italy, France, Spain, Brazil and Russia.

Speaking after the announcement of the collection, "Black Mirror" creator Brooker said: "All-new Black Mirror stories from exciting authors - that’s a joyous prospect. And they’re appearing in a high-tech new format known as a 'book'. Apparently you just have to glance at some sort of ‘ink code’ printed on paper and images and sounds magically appear in your head, enacting the story. Sounds far- fetched to me, but we’ll see."

A second volume of the new series is scheduled for autumn 2018 and a third will follow in 2019.