Florida shooting activists strike deal with PRH

Florida shooting activists strike deal with PRH

The students from Florida who founded ‘March For Our Lives’ after a high school shooting are collaborating on a book with Penguin Random House Children’s.

March for Our Lives was formed earlier this year by the survivors of the Stoneman Douglas High School shooting, when a gunman, identified as student Nikolas Cruz, killed 17 people. Glimmer of Hope: How Tragedy Sparked a Movement will document the students’ ongoing fight for sensible gun control legislation. It will feature first person essays by the founders, including Emma González, Jaclyn Corin, Cameron Kasky, and Matt Deitsch, and include oral histories and other contributions from 20 other founders and members of the group. It will also highlight key policy initiatives that the founders support.

Editorial director Holly Harris and publisher Ruth Knowles acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Caspian Dennis at Abner Stein in the UK, and will publish alongside Razorbill and Dutton in the US on 16th October.

Knowles said: “We are honoured to be publishing this important book at a time when helping young people find their voices about the events going on in the world around them has never been more important. These students of Parkland are incredibly inspiring, and we are proud to publish this book with them and for them.”                                  

All of the authors’ proceeds will benefit the March for Our Lives Foundation and the ongoing fight for sensible gun control legislation in the United States. A proportion of the proceeds of sale will also be donated by Penguin Random House to March For Our Lives Foundation.

The full list of contributors are: Adam Alhanti, Dylan Baierlein, John Barnitt, Alfonso Calderón, Sarah Chadwick, Jaclyn Corin, Matt Deitsch, Ryan Deitsch, Sam Deitsch, Brendan Duff, Emma González, Chris Grady, David Hogg, Cameron Kasky, Jammal Lemy, Kirsten McConnell, Charlie Mirsky, Diego Pfeiffer, Kyrah Simon, Delaney Tarr, Bradley Thornton, Kevin Trejos, Naomi Wadler, Sofie Whitney, Daniel Williams and Alex Wind.