New Jennifer Niven novel to PRH Children's

New Jennifer Niven novel to PRH Children's

Penguin Random House (PRH) Children’s UK will publish the next novel by YA author Jennifer Niven, Holding Up the Universe, in October.

The book is about a girl called Libby Strout, who was once dubbed "America’s fattest teen". Whilst dealing with her mother’s death, she ends up involved in a cruel high school game, which lands her in group counselling with the "cool and charming" Jack Masselin.

Niven said: “Since the release of my first YA novel in January 2015 [All the Bright Places, also published by PRH Children’s], I have been contacted by thousands of teens who feel misunderstood or alone. This story really began with this reader interaction. I wrote this book for Christine in the US, for Jayvee in the Philippines, for Paolo in Brazil, for Steph in the UK and for all the others like them. These vibrant, smart, giant-hearted teens who need and deserve to be seen.”

All the Bright Places sold more than 550,000 copies sold worldwide, and was the UK’s biggest selling YA debut of 2015, according to PRH Children’s.

Publisher Ben Horslen said: “We are enormously proud to be publishing Jennifer Niven’s second novel following the runaway global success of her first. Jennifer has delivered another poignant and exhilarating love story, perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.”

PRH Children’s will publish Holding Up the Universe in paperback on 6th October, priced at £7.99.