Pre-FBF buying 'spree' at No Exit Press

Pre-FBF buying 'spree' at No Exit Press

No Exit Press has acquired five books in a pre-Frankfurt Book Fair buying “spree”.

The publisher bought UK and Commonwealth rights, excluding Canada, to Dodgers by Bill Beverly from Caspian Dennis at Abner Stein. The book is a “dark, haunting, debut novel”, and “a powerful coming-of-age narrative heralding a major new voice in American fiction”. No Exit Press will publish the book in spring 2016.

Dragonfish by Vu Tran is an “outstanding” debut novel. No Exit Press acquired UK and Commonwealth rights, excluding Canada, from Claire Roberts at Trident Media. In the book, which will be released in February 2016, “Tran brings a new perspective and a fresh cast of characters to this novel set in the Vietnamese underworld of Las Vegas”.

No Exit Press bought UK and Commonwealth rights, excluding Canada, to Haints Stay by Colin Winnette from Anna Carmichael at Abner Stein, through Regula Noetzli on behalf of Charlotte Sheedy. The book is a “brutal and surreal new Acid Western in the tradition of Rudolph Wurlitzer, Kelly Reichardt's "Meek's Cutoff", and Jim Jarmusch's "Dead Man" with a dash of Cormac McCarthy”. It is due for release in March 2016.

Martin Suter's Montecristo is set in the tangled world of finance, politics and the media. It is a "pacy conspiracy thriller full of betrayal and underhand tactics". No Exit Press bought world English language rights from Diogenes and the book will be released in June 2016.

The Harbour Master by Daniel Pembrey is the first instalment of The Amsterdam Quartet featuring police detective Henk van der Pol. No Exit Press acquired world rights in The Harbour Master and the second instalment of The Amsterdam Quartet, Night Market, from Kirsty McLachlan at David Godwin Associates.

Ion Mills, m.d. of No Exit Press, said: “We are delighted to have added some exceptional new talent to our crime list and are looking forward to releasing these intriguing, diverse novels to our discerning and loyal readers.”