Poetry Book Society adds 'Wild Card' selection

Poetry Book Society adds 'Wild Card' selection

The Poetry Book Society has added a new Wild Card category to its poetry selections in order to include the "radical, experimental and avant-garde".

Every quarter the society's selectors choose the best newly published poetry collections to send to its members. Traditionally the PBS has featured a Choice, Recommendation and Special Commendation category but this new Wild Card Category will "open up the field to exciting new selections", the PBS promised.

Through the category, the society hopes to engage with producers of poetry who may not have considered submitting to the PBS in the past, while honouring its promise to members to "showcase the best in contemporary poetry in all its guises".

The Wild Card category will be judged by the British-born Cypriot poet, writer and publisher Anthony Anaxagorou, who commented: "Poetry can be many things. The Wild Card Choice is an important way of recognising the radical, experimental and avant-garde styles of writing which help progress the form."

Anaxagorou himself has published nine volumes of poetry, a spoken-word EP and a collection of short stories. In 2015 his poetry and fiction writing won the Groucho Maverick Award and he is also the founder of Out-Spoken, a London poetry and live music night, and Out-Spoken Press, an independent publisher of poetry and critical writing that aims to challenge the lack of diversity in British publishing.

Publishers can find out more about submitting books to the Wild Card category here.

The society is currently celebrating its Winter Selections for books published between October and December 2017. Its Choice selection is Sasha Dugdale's Joy (Carcanet); and its recommendations are Ahren Warner's Hello, Your Promise has been Extracted (Bloodaxe), Anne Michaels's All We Saw (Bloomsbury), Tim Dooley's Weemoed (Eyewear) and Paul Deaton's A Watchful Astronomy (Seren).

The society's special commendation is Fleur Adcock's Hoard (Bloodaxe) and its translation choice is Ana Blandiana's The Sun of Hereafter - Ebb of the Senses, translated by Viorica Patea and Paul Scott Derrick (Bloodaxe) The bonus Winter guest selection is Alarum by Wayne Holloway-Smith (Bloodaxe), chosen by Andrew McMillan.

The PBS will be announcing its Spring Selections to the public in mid-November. The society will also be launching a special redesigned edition of its Winter Bulletin in mid-November, which will be available for bookshops to order through NBN.