Piatkus Fiction pre-empts two books by debut author Eleanor Ray in six-figure deal

Piatkus Fiction pre-empts two books by debut author Eleanor Ray in six-figure deal

Piatkus Fiction has pre-empted two books by debut author Eleanor Ray in a six-figure deal. 

Emma Beswetherick pre-empted UK and Commonwealth rights from Euan Thorneycroft at A M Heath. Publication for the first book, currently titled The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton, is scheduled for early 2021. 

The book has already received interest internationally and the rights team at A M Heath has already concluded pre-emptive deals in Germany (Kruger/S Fischer Verlag), Italy (Salani) and Spain (Duomo). 

The debut follows a "loveable but unconventional heroine who takes hoarding as a way of coming to terms with the disappearance of her loved one."

Beswetherick said: "This is quirky and charming commercial fiction with a big heart, perfect for fans of Joanna Cannon, Emma Healy and Rachel Joyce’. She suggests that ‘this is going to be a lead title for Piatkus next year and the buzz is already building."

Photo Credit: Steve Shipman