Penguin wins three at PPC Awards

Penguin wins three at PPC Awards

Penguin has picked up three gongs at the Publishers Publicity Circle (PPC) annual awards, with category-winning campaigns for Charles Dickens: A Life, The Big Short and Mercy.

The awards, which took place in London last night (15th February), are given to the publicists responsible for the best PR campaigns carried out in 2011.

The PPC Award for Hardback Non-Fiction went to Anwen Hooson of Riot Communications and Amelia Fairney (Viking) for Charles Dickens: A Life by Claire Tomalin. Penguin's Mari Yamazaki’s campaign for The Big Short by Michael Lewis took the Waterstones Award for Second Edition Paperback: Fiction or Non-Fiction, while Francesca Russell of Michael Joseph won the Daily Mail Award for Paperback Original Fiction for her campaign for Mercy by Jussi Adler-Olsen.

The London Book Fair Award for Hardback Non-Fiction (Celebrity) went to Tamsin Kitson (Sphere, Little, Brown) for her campaign for Le Freak by Nile Rodgers.

The Hardback Fiction Award, sponsored by Bertrams in conjunction with The Reading Agency, was won jointly by Maura Brickell of Headline Review’s campaign for When God Was a Rabbit by Sarah Winman, and Transworld’s Alison Barrow and Ben Willis' campaign for Before I Go to Sleep by S  J Watson.

Ebury Press’ Ed Griffiths won the Foyles Award for Paperback Original Non-Fiction for his work on How to Be A Woman by Caitlin Moran.

The Bookseller Award for a Children’s Book went to Nina Douglas of Orion’s work on  My Sister Lives on the Mantlepiece by Annabel Pitcher.

Preena Gadher and Liz Hyder of Riot Communications won the Nielsen Award for a Generic Campaign for their promotion for the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.

The Best Newcomer Award, sponsored by Jo James, went to Becci Sharpe of Corvus for her campaign on The Hanging Shed by Gordon Ferris.

Sandeep Mahal of The Reading Agency won PPC Events Manager of the Year and PPC Librarian of the Year went to Nikki Bi of the Library Theatre in Birmingham. Annie Flury of BBC Radio Five Live won PPC Journalist of the Year 2011.

The judges for 2011 were chaired by The Bookseller’s Alice O’Keeffe and the panel comprised Waterstones' Jon Howells; Mo Siewcharran from Nielsen; Foyles' Miriam Robinson; Jane Mays from the Daily Mail; Orna O'Brien from The London Book Fair; Adrian Warner from Bertrams; Sandeep Mahal from The Reading Agency; and Jo James.