Penguin crowned winner of 2015 PEN Quiz

Penguin crowned winner of 2015 PEN Quiz

Penguin has won the 14th annual English PEN Quiz held last night (16th November) at the St Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London - the first victory for a publishing house since Simon & Schuster in 2010.

The winners narrowly beat the team from The Times, which came in second place after a "tense" final round. The Independent/Evening Standard team came third. Altogether 23 teams drawn from the world of journalism, publishing and law took part in the fundraising quiz, including Hachette UK, HarperCollins, Oneworld, Penguin Random House and the PR agency Four Colman Getty.

Other guests included authors Susie Boyt, Sebastian Faulks, Jonathan Coe, Philip Hensher, Charlie Higson, Victoria Hislop, Linda Grant, Adam Mars Jones, Deborah Moggach, Neel Mukherjee and Anthony Quinn were also at the quiz.

The evening was hosted by actor and comedian Omid Djalili with writer A L Kennedy acting as raffle master. The quiz questions were set by Simon O’Hagan, deputy comment editor of the Independent.

The Daily Telegraph won back-to-back victories in 2013 and 2014.