Penguin and Random lead way in Bookseller Industry Awards

Penguin and Random lead way in Bookseller Industry Awards

Penguin and Random House are topping the table with an industry-leading six nominations each in the 2011 Bookseller Industry Awards.

Following closely behind in the nomination league tables are HarperCollins and Hodder & Stoughton, both listed in five categories.

Altogether, 17 awards will be presented at the gala black-tie dinner during the Book Industry Conference at London's Park Lane Hilton on 16th May, with Penguin up for Publisher of the Year along with Hodder & Stoughton, Quercus, Bloomsbury, Simon & Schuster, Faber, Little, Brown and Vintage.

Last year's top retail prizewinner, Foyles, is leading the booksellers' nominations across five categories, including General Chain or Bookselling Company of the Year. The retailer, which has just opened a new branch in Bristol, is competing against Waterstone's, W H Smith, Asda and Sainsbury's to claim the title for the second year in a row.

Six indies from six regions are in with a chance of scooping the Independent Bookseller of the Year prize plus £5,000 courtesy of Gardners. The award recognises the devotion, hard work and innovation that goes into running an indie.

The Bookseller's editor-in-chief Neill Denny congratulated the nominees, claiming "the overall standard of entries was incredibly high despite, or perhaps because of, the turbulent times we are living through. It will be very tough job choosing the winners from such a strong field."

The 2011 awards will also feature two new categories: Children's Publisher, and Library Innovation of the Year.

Imprint and Editor of the Year
Accent Press: Miranda Forbes, Xcite Books

Canongate: Nick Davies, Canongate Non-fiction

Faber & Faber: Paul Keegan/Matthew Hollis, Faber Poetry

HarperCollins: Kate Bradley, Avon

HarperCollins: Myles Archibald, Collins

Hodder & Stoughton: Nick Sayers Hodder Fiction

Orion: Alan Samson, Weidenfeld & Nicolson

Pan Macmillan: Maria Rejt, Mantle

Penguin: Juliet Annan, Fig Tree

Random House: Clara Farmer, Chatto & Windus

Scholastic: Alison Green, Alison Green Books
Children's Publisher of the Year


HarperCollins Children's Books

Penguin Children's Books

Simon & Schuster Children's Books


Walker Books

Ingram Content Group Independent Publisher of the Year

Alma Books

Bright Red Publishing

Constable & Robinson


Faber & Faber

Kyle Cathie

Legend Press

Osprey Publishing

Quiller Publishing
Orion Literary Agent of the Year

Darley Anderson: Darley Anderson Literary, TV & Film Agency

Felicity Bryan: Felicity Bryan Associates

Jonny Geller: Curtis Brown

Mark Stanton: Jenny Brown Associates

Robert Kirby: United Agents

Simon Trewin: United Agents

Bonnier Publisher of the Year


Faber & Faber

Hodder & Stoughton

Little, Brown



Simon & Schuster


Frankfurt Book Fair Rights Professional of the Year

Alex Nicholas: Orion's Children's Books

Andy Hine: Little, Brown

Carla Alonzi: HarperCollins

Jake Smith-Bosanquet: Conville & Walsh

Jason Bartholomew: Hodder & Stoughton

Polly Collingridge: Canongate
PPC Publicity Campaign of the Year

Alex Hippisley-Cox PR (Viking, Penguin): Andrew Rawnsley's The End of the Party

Charlotte Bush with Ellie Rankin (Hutchinson, Random House): Tony Blair's A Journey

Emma Knight (Hodder & Stoughton): David Nicholls' One Day

Rina Gill (Covus, Atlantic): Karl Marlantes' Matterhorn

Ruth Waldram (William Heinemann, Arrow, Random House): To Kill a Mockingbird 50th Anniversary

Zoe Hood, (Virago, Little, Brown): Natasha Walter's Living Dolls

Nielsen Marketing Campaign of the Year

A Simples Life by Aleksandr Orlov    Ebury

The White Queen (paperback) by Philippa Gregory    Simon & Schuster

The Family by Martina Cole    Headline

The Return of the Richard & Judy Book Club    W H Smith

One Day by David Nicholls    Hodder & Stoughton

IndieBound    The Booksellers Association

Puffin's 70th Anniversary    Penguin Books

A Book of Tomorrow by Cecelia Aherne    HarperCollins

Mills & Boon New Voices    Harlequin (UK) Ltd

Feel Every Word    Waterstone's

FutureBook Digital Innovation of the Year

Penguin Facebook and Twitter Campaigns    Penguin

Solar System for iPad    Faber & Faber Ltd and Touch Press LLP

Make the Most of Your Time on Earth    Rough Guides    Berg Publishers

Mortal Kiss    Random House Children's Books and Stardoll
Direct Bookselling Company of the Year   

The Book People    

The Book Depository    

Scholastic Book Clubs    

Martina Cole General or Chain Bookselling Company of the Year

W H Smith   





Usborne Children's Bookseller of the Year


Scholastic Book Clubs   



W H Smith    


Walker Books Children's Independent Bookseller of the Year

Seven Stories    

Children's Bookshop Muswell Hill    

Book Nook    

Tales on Moon Lane   

Library Innovation of the Year     

Essex County Council Libraries    Space Station 2010

Opening the Book Furniture Ltd    Yate Library, South Gloucestershire

Nielsen Book    LibScan

New Writing North     Read Regional

London Borough of Hillingdon Libraries    Hillingdon Libraries Refurbishment

Bloomsbury Publishing Ltd    Public Library Online

The Answer Ltd for the London Libraries Consortium    London Libraries Consortium

Lynda La Plante Manager of the Year

Rik Mcshane    Waterstone's, Piccadilly

Zool Verjee    Blackwell's, Broad Street Oxford

Susan Sinclair    Foyles, Royal Festival Hall and Foyles St Pancras

Sion Hamilton    Foyles, Charing Cross Road

Sue Butterworth Young Bookseller of the Year sponsored by HarperCollins  

Cameron Crowe    Waterstone's, Newcastle Emerson Chambers

Georgina Hanratty    Tales on Moon Lane, London

Micha Solana    Blackwell's, Royal Bank of Scotland HQ, Edinburgh

Rebecca Hart    Foyles, St Pancras and Royal Festival Hall 

Gardners Independent Bookseller of the Year

Chorleywood Bookshop: South-east England winner

Mr B's Emporium of Reading Delights: South-west England winner

Gutter Bookshop: Ireland winner

Silverdell of Kirkham: North of England winner

The Chepstow Bookshop: Midlands and Wales winner

The Mainstreet Trading Company: Scotland winner

LBF Daily: Day 2