Peace and Doughty on Sunday Times short story longlist

Peace and Doughty on Sunday Times short story longlist

Novelists David Peace, Louise Doughty and Mark Haddon are among the authors longlisted for the 2015 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award.

The 19-strong list for the £30,000 award includes writers from four continents, including Man Booker Prize longlistees Joseph O’Neill, shortlisted for "The Referees", and Haddon, who is shortlisted for "The Pier Falls".

Guardian First Book Award winners Yiyun Li and Colin Barrett are shortlisted for their short stories "A Sheltered Woman" and "The Ways" respectively. Doughty, author of Apple Tree Yard (Faber), is shortlisted for "Fat White Cop with Ginger Eyebrows". Also on the list is Caine Prize winner Rotimi Babatunde from Nigeria, shortlisted for "The Collected Tricks of Houdini".

There are two new British writers on this year’s list: Julianne Pachico, still at the University of East Anglia, makes the list with her story "Lucky", alongside Welsh writer Rebecca F John, whose debut collection Clown’s Shoes is published later this year by Parthian.

Judge Aminatta Forna, novelist and critic, said: “It’s been a hugely enjoyable experience so far. There is a pleasing breadth of subject matter from the adventures of a Nigerian political ingenue to the child who imagines she can talk to spiders. What’s more, and deeply important to me as a judge, these imaginative and often ambitious stories are crafted out of the most gorgeous prose.”

The other judges are film and theatre director Sir Richard Eyre; critic and broadcaster Alex Clark; Turkish novelist, columnist and speaker Elif Shafak; Andrew Holgate, literary editor of the Sunday Times; and Lord Matthew Evans, co-founder of the award (non-voting chair of judges) and a former chairman of EFG Private Bank.

The shortlist will be announced in the Sunday Times on 1st March. The winner will be announced at a gala dinner at Stationer’s Hall in London on Friday 24th April.

The award is managed each year by Booktrust. The 2014 award was won by Adam Johnson for "Nirvana".

For the first time this year, readers can also read the longlisted stories on the Sunday Times website.  
The full list of the 19 longlisted writers and the titles of their short stories are:  

"The Indian Uprising" by Ann Beattie
"The Collected Tricks of Houdini" by Rotimi Babatunde
"The Ways" by Colin Barrett
"Fat White Cop with Ginger Eyebrows" by Louise Doughty
"Qualities of the Modern Farmer" by Emily Franklin
"The Pier Falls" by Mark Haddon
"The Glove Maker’s Numbers" by Rebecca F. John
"A Sheltered Woman" by Yiyun Li
"Hungry" by Elizabeth McCracken
"False River" by Paula Morris
"Interstellar Space" by Scott O’Connor
"Jules Verne Seeks Dreamers for Long-Distance Travel in Time" by Mary O’Donoghue
"The Referees" by Joseph O’Neill
"Lucky" by Julianne Pachico
"After the War, Before the War" by David Peace
"Holiday" by Mona Simpson
"Still Water, BC" by Erin Soros
"The Spiders of Stockholm" by E J Swift
"The Wedding Cake" by Madeleine Thien