Particular signs Sandbrook's series of children's history books

Particular signs Sandbrook's series of children's history books

Particular Books has signed a new series of children’s books by historian Dominic Sandbrook. The series is described as “perfect for fans of Horrible Histories” . 

Simon Winder, publishing director at Penguin Press, acquired world rights, including audio, from James Pullen at the Wylie Agency. The new series, called Adventures in Time, will be aimed at children aged eight to 12 and tailored to the school curriculum.  

The first two books in the series, The Second World War and The Six Wives of Henry VIII, will be published on 1st July 2021 in hardback. Both have been illustrated by Edward Bettison. The next two books, Alexander the Great and The First World War, will be published on 4th November. Books on Cleopatra and the Vikings are scheduled for publication in 2022, with more books in the series to follow. 

Sandbrook, who is best known for writing history books for adults and presenting BBC television and radio series, said: “I've loved history ever since I was a boy and I’m delighted to be able to bring it to life for today’s children. All of the books are grounded firmly in fact, just as in my history books for adults. But they’re definitely not homework. They’re written to be fun, with engaging characters and cliffhanging chapters.  

“These are books for 21st-century children who enjoy Harry Potter and 'Star Wars', as well as those who already love knights, castles, queens and battles. It has been a hugely exciting intellectual and literary challenge and I’m thrilled to be working already on the next adventures."

Winder added: “As Dominic Sandbrook’s long-time publisher at Allen Lane it is to my lasting shame that nonetheless it never crossed my mind to ask him to do this and that the idea was entirely his own. With his wonderful ability to communicate the past, his gleeful enjoyment of the unusual and curious and his passion for conveying the importance of history, Dominic is the ideal writer for Adventures in Time. I envy the children who will encounter these extraordinary people and events for the first time in these incredibly enjoyable, fair, stirring and thoughtful books.”