Pan Mac buys queenly trilogy

Pan Mac buys queenly trilogy

Pan Macmillan has acquired a debut trilogy about the Battle of Hastings told from the perspective of three queens.

Natasha Harding bought UK and British Commonwealth rights to The Queens of the Conquest trilogy by Joanna Courtney from Kate Shaw at The Viney Agency.

Harding described the trilogy as “hugely impressive with a strong commercial appeal - perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory”.

The three queens whose eyes the Battle of Hastings is viewed through are King Harold II’s wife Queen Edyth, Harald Hadrada’s wife Queen Elizabeth of Norway, and William the Conqueror’s wife Queen Mathilda.

Shaw said that “this extraordinary period of British history is very much in the zeitgeist”, and added: “Joanna’s trilogy is unique in that it takes us through these turbulent times alongside three fascinating and absolutely central, yet largely forgotten, women.”

Pan Macmillan will publish the first title, The Half Year Queen, in October 2015.

The other two titles are The Last Viking Queen and The Conqueror’s Queen.