OUP and Blackwell's win at Academic Trade Conference awards

OUP and Blackwell's win at Academic Trade Conference awards

Oxford University Press has been crowned Publisher of the Year once again at the Academic Book Trade Conference awards. The publisher has won the category every year since 2010.

The awards were presented this evening (Thursday 18th May) at the conference in the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Stratford-upon-Avon.

Academic Chain Bookseller, as voted for by academic publishers, went to Blackwell's, while Blackwell’s, University of Sheffield won Bookshop of the Year for the second year in a row.

Blackwell’s, University of Sheffield manager Glyn Littlewood was also voted joint Bookseller of the Year alongside Hilary Piet of O’Mahony’s Bookseller Ltd.

Palgrave Macmillan’s Julie Fisher won Rep of the Year.

Roger Horton, the outgoing c.e.o. of publisher Taylor & Francis, was given the Outstanding Contribution Award following his 35 years in academic publishing. Horton will be stepping down from his role to work on teaching, speaking and advisory projects.

Booksellers Association c.e.o. Tim Godfray said: "Each of tonight’s winners demonstrates the remarkable talent and passion that exists across the academic book industry. It’s also my pleasure to present the award for Outstanding Contribution to Roger Horton who has had a long and illustrious career in academic publishing."