Orion strikes deal for 'fresh take' on psychological thriller

Orion strikes deal for 'fresh take' on psychological thriller

Orion has acquired Only a Mother, a book promising "a new twist on the psychological thriller," in a three-book deal.

Only a Mother is authored by Elisabeth Carpenter, previously an e-book bestseller for Avon. In her new book she explores the impact of a crime on the family of the accused by honing in on the experience of a convicted killer's mother.

Posing the scenario in which a mother has always believed her son innocent of murder - until he arrives home from prison and another girl goes missing - it asks, "what would you do if your child was accused of murder?", "how can a mother turn her back on her son?" and, "if she won't, then how far will she go to protect him?".

Orion Fiction publisher Harriet Bourton and assistant editor Bethan Jones acquired world rights in a three-book deal through Caroline Hardman at Hardman & Swainson, to publish in December 2018 paperback, e-book and audio.

Jones said the book offered "a stark look at the stigma and isolation faced by families of convicted criminals" and would particularly appeal to fans of The Widow and National Treasure.

Bourton said: "There are many psychological thrillers in the market at the moment that look at what impacts a crime has on the victim’s family. Only a Mother turns that perspective on its head and looks at the family of the accused; how their lives will have changed, how the community view them now, their own relationship with and love for the convicted. Elisabeth handles this complex experience with page-turning dexterity and compassion. We are really excited about her future here at Orion."