Orion to publish Italian tale of love and war inspired by true events

Orion to publish Italian tale of love and war inspired by true events

Orion is publishing a story of love, war, family and betrayal, based on the true story of a little-known massacre in Civitella, Italy during the Second World War.  

Clare Hey, publishing director at Orion Fiction, bought UK and Commonwealth rights from Matilda Forbes Watson at WME in An Italian Affair and one further novel by Caroline Montague. 

Set in the Tuscan Hills, Hey called An Italian Affair a "compelling story of love, family and betrayal" that "completely swept [her] away" and would hold appeal for fans of Santa Montefiore and Dinah Jefferies.

An estimated 116 men and boys were massacred in the Italian village of Civitella, by German soldiers in WWII. The book's author, who is based between England and Italy, living not far from the site, said she was inspired to tell the story after speaking with local families who still grieve all these years later. 

An Italian Affair is to be published by Orion Fiction in trade paperback in November 2018 and paperback in March 2019. WME is selling the international rights.