Orion to publish author–translator’s crime series set in Second World War Paris

Orion to publish author–translator’s crime series set in Second World War Paris

Orion has acquired four Second World War crime novels by translator, travel writer and author Chris Lloyd. 

Emad Akhtar, publisher at Orion Fiction, did the deal for world rights with Ella Kahn at DKW Literary Agency with the first, The Unwanted Dead, to publish this September.

The series begins on the day the Nazis march into Paris in June 1940, and each book in the series will follow Paris police detective Eddie Giral as he navigates the new regime and the resistance – playing off both sides for his survival and losing himself in the process.

Orion has described the series as perfect for fans of Philip Kerr, Alan Furst, Mick Herron and "sophisticated, character-driven crime fiction". 

Akhtar said: "Eddie Giral is a character with enormous depth – a survivor of the First World War, who finds himself an unwilling participant in the Second when it comes to his city. His inner struggle – which asks what justice is when the ruling order holds alien values – has a lot to say about what is going on in the world today. Beyond that, Lloyd’s Second World War Paris is intensely researched, vividly drawn, full of memorable characters, gripping suspense, and hides many secrets for the reader to discover. I hope one day Eddie will deserve to be spoken of in the same breath as Philip Kerr’s inimitable Bernie Gunther, and I’m incredibly excited about what Chris has achieved here, and for readers to meet Eddie Giral."

The Unwanted Dead will be published in hardback on 17th September 2020, priced £16.99.