Orion to publish 14 James Bond novels

All 14 of John Gardner's James Bond books are to be re-released by Orion this summer.

The late author penned the novels about the super spy, including No Deals Mr Bond, Brokenclaw and The Man From Barbarossa, from 1981 to 1996, following Kingsley Amis' Bond title, Colonel Sun, published after Ian Fleming's death in 1964.

Beginning in June, Orion will publish the first five titles, License Renewed; For Special Services; Ice Breaker; Role of Honour; and Nobody Lives Forever to celebrate the 30th anniversary of License Renewed. The titles will all be hardback, and will use the original jackets.

The rest of Gardner's Bond books, No Deals Mr Bond; Scorpius; Win, Lose or Die; Brokenclaw; The Man from Barbarossa; Death is Forever; Never Send Flowers; Seafire; and Cold will be released in paperback in 2012, as a redesigned collection.

In the US, Pegasus will release the first three Gardner titles as newly designed paperbacks in the autumn, including new introductions, and will follow with a complete re-issue of all 14 titles.

Gardner's novels were followed by six from Raymond Benson, published from 1997-2002, and later Sebastian Faulks' Devil May Care (Penguin). Jeffery Deaver's Carte Blanche will be published by Hodder in May.

Ian Fleming died in 1964, having published 14 James Bond titles.