Orion acquires Bad Mothers’ Book Club

Orion acquires Bad Mothers’ Book Club

Orion is publishing The Bad Mothers’ Book Club by Keris Stainton - a book about a gang of parent "rebels" formed at the school gates.

The book will be serialised by Trapeze in e-book from 1st June 2018 and published in mass market paperback on 21st March 2019. Sam Eades, editorial director at Trapeze Books, acquired world rights (all languages) in a deal struck by Hannah Sheppard at the D H H Literary Agency.

After Emma Chance moves to the seaside for her husband's job, she jumps at the chance to make new friends at an exclusive book club hosted by the head of the PTA. However, despite her best intentions, chaos, catastrophe and a ruined carpet are a wine-filled glass away. Banned from the group, Emma begins to make friends with the other school gate rebels and the Bad Mothers’ Book Club is formed. This group only reads wine labels and everyone wants to join... 

Eades called it a "no-filter look at motherhood". 

"I’ve been a fan of Keris’s writing for a long time, and fell in love with the cast of Bad Mothers’ Bookclub," she said. "Real, honest and laugh-out-loud funny, The Bad Mothers’ Bookclub is about keeping up appearances, keeping up with the Joneses and, in Emma’s case, just keeping it together. It is a no-filter look at motherhood and will appeal to fans of Motherland, Big Little Lies and Why Mummy Drinks."

Stainton, who has written 10 novels to date, said: "I've known Sam online for as long as I've been writing and I'm so excited to have the opportunity to work with her, particularly on a book that's so close to my heart. I've written about female friendship before, but I've been wanting to write about the pressures (and competition) of parenting for a while. I've loved writing The Bad Mothers' Book Club and really hope it resonates with readers."