'Original' Levithan among UKLA winners

'Original' Levithan among UKLA winners

Books by David Levithan, Philip Reeve, Sarah McIntyre, Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers were the winners of this year’s United Kingdom Literary Association (UKLA) Book Awards, announced today (10th July) at a ceremony in Nottingham.

The awards are divided into three categories – 12-16+, 7-11 and 3-6 – and are the only UK children’s book awards that are voted for by teachers.

David Levithan won the 12-16+ award for Every Day (Egmont), a “highly original book which is handled with real integrity”, according to UKLA. In the book, a character called A wakes up in a new body and has to live that person’s life doing no harm to the host. However, when A falls in love, lives are changed and hosts become aware of what is happening to them.

The winner of the 7-11 category was Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre, (OUP), about the adventure Oliver goes on when his parents are missing. UKLA said: “Though the combination of words and pictures make Oliver and the Seawigs a perfect book for children who have developed little stamina as readers, it has been written and illustrated with such wit and so many highly original ideas that it reaches out to everyone.”

In the 3-6 category, the winner was The Day the Crayons Quit written by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers, published by HarperCollins.

The Day the Crayons Quit is a very funny book that encourages children to be adventurous and creative,” said UKLA. “Like all the very best picture books, there is plenty here to delight adults as well as children.”

The judges also awarded a highly commended award in the 7-11 category for the first time to Us Minus Mum by Heather Butler (Little, Brown), for its exploration of bereavement.

David Reedy, president of UKLA, said: “We know that literature broadens the reader’s experience of the world and sense of the possible and thus should have a central place in classrooms and educational contexts. Children need access to a rich range of high quality literature and our awards highlight some of the very best literature currently available to children and young people in the UK.  We are proud to be celebrating these truly outstanding winners.”

This year’s shortlists in full:


The Yes by Sarah Bee (author) and Satoshi Kitamura (illustrator) (Andersen Press)

Z is for Moose by Kelly Bingham and Paul. O. Zelinsky (illustrator) (Andersen Press)

The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt (author) and Oliver Jeffers (illustrator) (HarperCollins)

Hermelin: The Detective Mouse by Mini Grey (Jonathan Cape)

Shh! We Have a Plan by Chris Haughton (Walker Books)

The Crocodile Who Didn’t Like Water by Gemma Merino (Macmillan Children’s Books)



Stay Where You Are Then Leave by John Boyne (Doubleday)

Us Minus Mum by Heather Butler (Little, Brown)

Blackberry Blue and other fairy tales by Jamila Gavin (author) and Richard Collingridge (illustrator) Tamarind Books)

Cowgirl by Giancarlo Gemin (Nosy Crow)

Scarlet Ibis by Gill Lewis (Oxford University Press)

Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve (author) and Sarah McIntyre (illustrator) (Oxford University Press)



Looking At the Stars by Jo Cotterill (Bodley Head)

Vango: Between Sky and Earth by Timothée de Fombelle ( author) and Sarah Ardizzone (translator)(Walker Books)

The Year of the Rat by Clare Furniss (Simon and Schuster)

Every Day by David Levithan (Egmont)

Counting by 7’s by Holly Goldberg Sloan (Piccadilly Press)

Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein (Egmont )