Orchard buys debut by animator Kita Mitchell

Orchard buys debut by animator Kita Mitchell

Orchard Books, an imprint of Hachette Children’s Group (HCG), has signed a three-book deal with former children’s animator Kita Mitchell.

The ‘Grandma Dangerous’ series is about a boy called Ollie and his “grandma-gone-rogue”. It will be illustrated by Nathan Reed.

The first book, Grandma Dangerous and The Dog of Destiny, will be published in paperback in June 2018.

Senior editor Anna Solemani, who acquired world rights from Kate Shaw at The Viney Shaw Agency, said: “Kita Mitchell has created a fast-paced romp for 8 – 10 year olds, ideal for fans of David Solomons and Pamela Butchart. I look forward to unleashing Grandma Dangerous and all the other larger-than-life characters into the world.”

Books two and three will follow in 2019.

Mitchell has animated children’s programmes such as “Eggs & Baker” for the BBC and “Fireman Sam” for Channel 4. She received an MA in Writing for Young People from Bath Spa in 2017.