Orbit snaps up werewolf trilogy

Little, Brown imprint Orbit has acquired an urban fantasy trilogy by American author Amanda Carlson, about the only female werewolf in the world.

Orbit commissioning editor Anna Gregson bought UK and Commonwealth rights to Full Blooded plus two more titles in the series from Tracy Williams at Hachette Book Group USA. Orbit UK and Orbit US will publish the series on both sides of the Atlantic, with Full Blooded scheduled for release in all territories in September 2012.

Set in a world where all werewolves are male, the story follows Jessica, a girl who's just become the only female werewolf in the world. When a prophecy claims that her birth will signal the end of the werewolf race, she has to go on the run.

Gregson said: "I'm thrilled to be publishing this exceptionally fast-paced and irresistibly sexy urban fantasy trilogy that is just perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong and Charlaine Harris.

"This debut stood out to us because it sizzles with energy, has a heart-thumping pace—and readers will want to consume it all in one sitting. So bearing that in mind that fans will be eager for the rest of the series, we'll be keeping the schedule tight and will be publishing 3 books within a year"