Oneworld, Nosy Crow and Jessica Kingsley lead IPG Award nominations

Oneworld, Nosy Crow and Jessica Kingsley lead IPG Award nominations

Nosy Crow and Faber are in the running again for IPG Publishing Awards after the shortlist was revealed today (23rd January).

Nosy Crow was last year crowned the winner in two categories and is up again for three: Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year alongside Bloomsbury and Walker Books, the Nielsen Digital Marketing Award alongside Jessica Kinglsey Publishing and career specialist How2Become and The Bookseller International Achievement Award.

Faber, which last year won the Digital Publishing Award, is this time vying for the Trade Publisher of the Year title alongside double Man Booker winning publisher Oneworld, Icon Books and the Scotland-based Saraband.

Along with Nosy Crow, Oneworld and Jessica Kinglsey Publishing are also shortlisted in three categories.

Along with Trade Publisher of the Year, Oneworld is also up for for The Bookseller International Achievement Award alongside Nosy Crow, Kogan Page and Pavilion Books and for the Alison Morrison Diversity Award alongside Carcanet Press, Cassava Republic Press and Jessica Kingsley Publishers.

Jessica Kingsley Publishing meanwhile is also competing for the ProQuest Academic & Professional Publisher of the Year title alongside Cambridge University Press, Edward Elgar Publishing and SAGE Publishing.

Firefly Press, which recently won funding for the Welsh Book Council, is up for the Nick Robinson Newcomer Award alongside Orenda Books and Hoxton Mini Press, with the latter also vying for the IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year, competing against Bradt Travel Guides and SPCK.

Bloomsbury and Faber are also shortlisted twice, both up for Ingram Content Group Digital Publishing Award as well as Trade Publisher of the year, competing against Class Professional Publishing and PG Online in that category.

Shortlisted for the Publishers Licensing Society Education Publisher of the Year title are John Catt Educational, Jolly Learning and Maths – No Problem! Meanwhile the Ruth Killick Publicity Young Independent Publisher of the Year award shortlistees are Joshua Brown from How2Become; Ola Gotkowska from Nosy Crow and Emma Milman from Class Professional Publishing.

Bibliocloud, Compass Independent Publishing Services, and Martin Palmer are competing in the last category, the GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award.

IPG chief executive Bridget Shine said: “These shortlists provide the best possible evidence of the richness of UK independent publishing, and every company and individual on them should feel very proud of their achievements.”
She added: “Entrants who did not make the cut should not feel discouraged, and we thank all the IPG members who made these shortlists selections the most difficult task we have ever had at the awards.”

The award ceremony will be held at the IPG Conference on 9th February.