Nosy Crow scoops five nominations for IPG Awards

Nosy Crow scoops five nominations for IPG Awards

Nosy Crow and Bloomsbury have dominated the IPG Independent Publishing Awards shortlists alongside various radical publishers such as Verso and Zed Books.

Nosy Crow has scooped five nominations in four of the 12 categories, while Bloomsbury is nominated three times.

Class Publishing, Kogan Page, Otter-Barry Books and SPCK all have two nominations across the shortlists while 10 publishers—Boydell & Brewer, Burleigh Dodds Science Publishing, Emerald Publishing, Hurst Publishers, Little Tiger Group, Old Barn Books, Otter-Barry Books, Pluto Press, Verso and Zed Books—appear on the shortlists for the first time.

Nosy Crow is up for The Bookseller International Achievement of the Year, Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year, Nielsen Digital Marketing Award and IPG Young Independent Publisher of the Year and IPG Digital Publishing Award.

Bloomsbury is in the running for Frankfurt Book Fair Trade Publisher of the Year, alongside Hurst Publishers, Verso, Zed Books, as well as for the IPG Digital Publishing Award and Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year.

Alongside Nosy Crow and Bloomsbury, other publishers shortlisted for the Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year, include Little Tiger Group and Walker Books.

In the ProQuest Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year category, Boydell & Brewer is shortlisted alongside Class Publishing, Edward Elgar Publishing, Emerald Publishing and Kogan Page.

Kogan Page is also nominated for The Bookseller International Achievement of the Year along with Nosy Crow and The Society for Promoting Christian Knowledge (SPCK). One of the oldest publishers in the UK, SPCK, is also shortlisted for IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year along with Hoxton Mini Press, Quiller Publishing and Search Press.

There are only two companies in the running for PLS Education Publisher of the Year which include Suffolk-based John Catt Educational and Maths – No Problem!, a publisher provides teaching resources based on teaching methods developed in Singapore.

Meanwhile Burleigh Dodds Science Publishing, Old Barn Books and Otter-Barry Books are in the running for Nick Robinson Newcomer Award, named in honour of Robinson Publishing founder and Constable & Robinson chairman Nick Robinson.

Bloomsbury and Nosy Crow are competing alongside PG Online and Class Publishing for IPG Digital Publishing Award while Nosy Crow is up against Pluto Press and How2Become in the Nielsen Digital Marketing category. Ola Gotkowska, of Nosy Crow, is vying for the crown of IPG Young Independent Publisher of the Year along with  Sam Hutchinson of b small publishing and Emma Milman of Class Publishing.

Carcanet Press, Cassava Republic Press, Otter-Barry Books are all shortlisted for the Alison Morrison Diversity Award, dedicated to the former children's publisher and chair of Book Trust’s board of trustee.

In the GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award, Suzanne Collier features alongside Inpress, The Independent Alliance and Lynette Owen.

Organisers said the shortlists “cover the full spectrum of UK publishing and reveal the vibrancy of the independent sector”. Drawn up by panels of experts from the largest number of nominations ever received in the 12 years of the IPG Independent Publishing Awards, the categories feature a total of 42 nominations, taking in 26 different publishers, two other publishing organisations and five individuals.

The winners of the 12 Awards will be revealed at a Gala Dinner during the IPG’s Annual Spring Conference on 8th March. A final Award, for the Ingram Content Group Independent Publisher of the Year, will be selected from a shortlist made up of the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.

IPG chief executive Bridget Shine revealed the judges were “blown away by the quantity and quality of the entries from IPG members, which gave our judges an extraordinarily tough job”.

She said: “The shortlists they have produced reveal the incredible diversity and dynamism of independent publishing in 2018, and our only regret is that many more superb entrants could not be included. We can’t wait to celebrate the outstanding achievements of the independent publishing community with members in March.”