Norton, Ryan and McAnulty win at An Post Irish Book Awards

Norton, Ryan and McAnulty win at An Post Irish Book Awards

Graham Norton, Dara McAnulty and Donal Ryan were among the winning authors at the virtual An Post Irish Book Awards.

This year's awards attracted a record number of 143,000 votes from the Irish public and, for the first time, the ceremony was shown live online last night (25th November).

Ryan scooped the Eason Novel of the Year prize for Strange Flowers (Doubleday Ireland), while the Odgers Berndtson Non-Fiction Book of the Year was won by A Ghost in the Throat by Doireann Ní Ghríofa (Tramp Press).

McAnulty was named Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year for Diary of a Young Naturalist (Little Toller), while Norton scooped National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year with Home Stretch (Coronet). The Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year prize went to Never Mind the Boll***s, Here’s the Science by Luke O’Neill (Gill Books).

The RTÉ Radio 1 Listeners’ Choice Award went to A Light That Never Goes Out by Keelin Shanley (Gill Books) and the Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year to Champagne Football by Mark Tighe and Paul Rowan (Sandycove),

Neven Maguire’s Midweek Meals in Minutes (Gill Books) landed the Bookselling Ireland Cookbook of the Year prize, while Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year was After the Silence by Louise O’Neill (Quercus) Best Irish-Published Book of the Year was won by Old Ireland in Colour by John Breslin and Dr Sarah-Anne Buckley (Merrion Press). Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year was Cnámh by Eoghan Mac Giolla Bhríde (Éabhlóid).

Dept51 @Eason Teen & Young Adult Book of the Year was Savage Her Reply by Deirdre Sullivan, illustrated by Karen Vaughan (Little Island Books). Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year went to The Great Irish Farm Book by Darragh McCullough, illustrated by Sally Caulwell (Gill Books) in the junior category, and Break the Mould by Sinéad Burke, illustrated by Natalie Byrne (Wren & Rook) in the senior selection.

Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year was “In the Museum of Misremembered Things” by Linda McKenna, while Short Story of the Year Award was "I Ate It All And I Really Thought I Wouldn’t" by Caoilinn Hughes (LitHub)

Commenting on this year’s winners, John Treacy, chairperson of the An Post Irish Book Awards, said: “On behalf of the board of the Irish Book Awards, I’d like to congratulate all of the winning authors. Their work represents the very best of Irish writing and in a difficult year their books have brought readers great comfort and inspiration. Let’s also consider Irish booksellers, who have suffered greatly during the lockdowns and carried on regardless.

“Ireland is blessed with many wonderful bookshops, chains and independents, so this Christmas, I would urge readers to visit their local bookshops. Irish writers, Irish readers, Irish bookshops—there’s an alliance we can all get behind.”

The overall winner of the An Post Irish Book of the Year will be revealed on RTÉ One at 10.15 p.m. on 10th December.