New sci-fi series from Mark Lawrence to Amazon Publishing

New sci-fi series from Mark Lawrence to Amazon Publishing

Amazon Publishing has acquired the first three books in a new science fiction series from Mark Lawrence for its sci-fi and fantasy imprint, 47North.

Set in the late 1980s, the London-set coming of age science fiction series is described as grappling with time travel and the "many-worlds theory". It also follows the budding romance of characters Nick and Mia as they strive to save themselves and the people they love from "an impending doom that only they can see coming". 

World English rights were acquired from Ian Drury at Sheil Land Associates, with all three new titles in the series due for publication in 2019. The first in the series, Power Word Kill, publishes in April 2019.

Editor Jack Butler said: "We’re absolutely thrilled to have signed this vibrant and exciting new science fiction series from an author we’ve long admired. The first of the three new books, Power Word Kill, is the perfect 80s throwback for fans of Stranger Things and Ernest Cline. It will delight Mark Lawrence’s vast readership and attract die-hard and new sci-fans to his work. I’m excited and honoured to be working with him."

Lawrence said: "I'm excited to explore some new directions with my writing and very much looking forward to working with the team at 47North."