New Sally Green trilogy to PRH Children's

New Sally Green trilogy to PRH Children's

Penguin Random House Children's is to publish a new YA series from Sally Green, whose Half Bad trilogy has sold in 51 territories and shifted over 66,500 copies in the UK via Nielsen BookScan.

The Smoke Thieves will be a fantasy series set against a backdrop of warring kingdoms and mysterious magic. Fiction publisher Ben Horslen bought world rights in a three-book deal from Claire Wilson at Rogers, Coleridge and White.

The new series will see four nations set for conflict, and four teenagers - a princess, a traitor, a hunter and a thief - holding the fate of the world in their hands. "As alliances shift and shatter, and old uncertainties are overturned, our four heroes find their past lives transformed and their futures inextricably linked by the unpredictable tides of magic and war," says the publisher.

The first book in the series, itself titled The Smoke Thieves, will be published in summer 2018, simultaneously with Viking Books for Young Readers in the US.

Horslen said: "Sally's first book won her a legion of fans around the world with its heady combination of action, violence and magic. I'm sure that this new series will prove just as attention-grabbing. Fans of George R R Martin, Victoria Aveyard and Leigh Bardugo are in for a treat."