New Jen Williams trilogy to Headline

New Jen Williams trilogy to Headline

Headline has acquired a new epic fantasy trilogy by Jen Williams, who co-runs the monthly Super Relaxed Fantasy Club.

Commissioning editor Emily Griffin bought British Commonwealth rights, excluding Canada, from Juliet Mushens at The Agency Group.

The first book in the series, The Ninth Rain, will be released in early 2017, followed by The Bitter Twins and A Litany of Bones.

The trilogy will introduce Tormalin the Oathless, reluctant hero and last son of the crumbling empire of Ebora who, together with a drug-addled witch, a fallen warrior and a veteran explorer, is drawn into a deadly conspiracy of ancient magic and impending war.

Williams is the author of The Copper Promise and The Iron Ghost, the first two novels in the Copper Cat trilogy also published by Headline.

Griffin said: “Jen’s novels are a joy to read, packed with rollicking adventure, highly original characters and spades of magic and humour. Jen is a huge talent and we can’t wait to continue building her readership with this exciting new trilogy.”

Williams, who runs the Super Relaxed Fantasy Club with fellow author Den Patrick, said: “I am utterly thrilled to be writing another fantasy trilogy with Headline, who have worked with me so brilliantly on the Copper Cat books – there will be new worlds, new characters, new adventures, and I can’t wait to start exploring them.”