Naughtie and Tillyard to judge Sunday Times/PFD award

Naughtie and Tillyard to judge Sunday Times/PFD award

Broadcaster James Naughtie and historian Stella Tillyard will join literary editor Andrew Holgate on the judging panel for The Sunday Times/Peters Fraser + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award 2016.

The £5,000 prize, sponsored by literary agency PFD, is awarded to the best work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish author aged between 18 and 35. For the second year, the prize is open to self-published works and e-books. Three runners-up will receive £500 each.

The annual prize took a seven year break until last year, when debut poet Sarah Howe won for her first collection, Loop of Jade (Chatto & Windus), which also went on to win the T S Eliot Prize.

Naughtie is BBC News books editor, presenting Radio 4’s Bookclub and acting is a special correspondent for BBC News. In addition he is a writer, with his most recent novel, Paris Spring (Head of Zeus), published in April. He has chaired both the Man Booker and Samuel Johnson judging panels.

Historian and writer Stella Tillyard, who joins him, won the History Today Award, the Fawcett Prize and the Meilleur Livre Etranger for her 1994 biography of four sisters, Aristocrats. She has sat on several prize juries, mostly recently the Samuel Johnson Prize in 2010.

Naughtie said: “There's so much good writing around that I know we're going to uncover great talent from this year’s crop. I can't wait to spend reading time with the next generation of young writers.”

Also judging will be Andrew Holgate, literary editor at The Sunday Times. He said: “We have a great task ahead of us: The Sunday Times/Peters Fraser + Dunlop Young Writer of the Year Award is designed to celebrate the best of new British and Irish writing talent, whether published or self-published, and offer the sort of encouragement and exposure that has made such a difference to past shortlistees and winners, from Robert MacFarlane, Simon Armitage and Sarah Waters, to last year’s winner, Sarah Howe.”

Submissions closed on 1st May. The four-strong shortlist will be announced in November, followed by the winner in December.