Mulholland acquires poet's debut thriller

Mulholland Books has pre-empted a debut psychological thriller series by poet Kate Rhodes.

Editor Ruth Tross bought UK and Commonwealth rights, including Canada, in three books from agent Teresa Chris.

Mulholland plans to publish Crossbones Yard, the first in the series, in hardback in summer 2012.

The novel introduces series character, psychologist Alice Quentin. A body is found in a deconsecrated prostitutes' graveyard in Southwark, Crossbones Yard, and Quentin is asked to build a profile of the killer. She quickly realises that the crime has links to the past, and the murderer seems to want to involve her personally.

Tross said: "I am utterly delighted to have the chance to launch Kate Rhodes' fiction career. She's a brilliant writer, and her novel had everyone who read it gripped from the very first page. Alice Quentin is a wonderfully appealing and unusual character, and the compelling, dark plot is sure to appeal to fans of Sophie Hannah, Nicci French and Kate Atkinson."

Rhodes will be the first British author published on the Mulholland Books list.