Viskic, Mukherjee and Herron in the running for CWA Daggers

Viskic, Mukherjee and Herron in the running for CWA Daggers

Mick Herron, Abir Mukherjee and Emma Viskic are among the crime writers shortlisted for more than one prize at this year’s Dagger awards, run by the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA).

Viskic's Resurrection Bay (Pushkin Vertigo) appears on the shortlist for the CWA Gold Dagger, given for the best crime novel of the year, and also the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger for a first novel. Mukherjee, who won the CWA Historical Dagger last year, is shortlisted again for the CWA Historical Dagger and also for the Gold Dagger with A Necessary Evil (Harvill Secker).

London Rules by Herron (John Murray) appears on the Gold and the Ian Fleming Steel longlists – he won the Ian Fleming Dagger for best thriller last year with Spook Street - as does Bluebird by Attica Locke (Serpent’s Tail).

Other big names on the shortlists include Lee Child, who is shortlisted for the CWA Short Story Dagger with ‘Second Son’, published in No Middle Name: The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Stories (Bantam Press), and Henning Mankell, whose novel After the Fire (Harvill Secker), translated by Marlaine Delargy, is up for the Historical Dagger.

The Crime Writers’ Association Daggers awards were started in 1955 and are now awarded in 10 categories.

The winners will be announced at a reception at Daunt Books, Cheapside, London, on Wednesday 25 July. As previously announced, Michael Connelly will be given the Diamond Dagger, for his outstanding contribution to crime fiction, as nominated by CWA members.


The  CWA Dagger shortlists for 2018


The CWA Gold Dagger

The Liar by Steve Cavanagh (Orion)

London Rules by Mick Herron (John Murray)

Since We Fell by Dennis Lehane (Little, Brown)

Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke (Serpent’s Tail)

A Necessary Evil by Abir Mukherjee (Harvill Secker)

Resurrection Bay by Emma Viskic (Pushkin Vertigo)


The CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger, sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications Ltd

London Rules by Mick Herron (John Murray)

If I Die Before I Wake by Emily Koch (Harvill Secker)

Bluebird, Bluebird by Attica Locke (Serpent’s Tail)

An Act of Silence by Colette McBeth (Wildfire)

The Chalk Man by CJ Tudor (Michael Joseph)

The Force by Don Winslow (HarperFiction)

The CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger

Gravesend by William Boyle (No Exit Press)

I.Q. by Joe Ide (Weidenfeld &  Nicolson)

Girl in Snow by Danya Kufafka (Picador)

Lola by Melissa Scrivner Love (Point Blank)

East of Hounslow by Khurrum Rahman (HQ)

Resurrection Bay by Emma Viskic (Pushkin Vertigo)

The CWA ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction, sponsored by ALCS

Black Dahlia Red Rose by Piu Eatwell (Coronet)

Killer of the Flower Moon by David Grann (Simon & Schuster)

Blood on the Page by Thomas Harding (Heinemann)

The Fact of a Body by Alexandria Mariano-Lesnevich (Macmillan)

A False Report by T. Christian Miller & Ken Armstrong (Hutchinson)

Rex V Edith Thompson by Laura Thompson (Head of Zeus)

The CWA Historical Dagger

A Necessary Evil by Abir Mukherjee (Harvill Secker)

Fire by LC Tyler (Constable)

Lightening Men by Thomas Mullen (Little, Bronw)

Money in the Morgue by Ngaio Marsh and Stella Duffy (HarperCollins)

Nine Lessons by Nicola Upson (Faber & Faber)

Nucleus by Rory Clements (Zaffre Publishing)

The CWA International Dagger

Zen and the Art of Murder by Oliver Bottini, tr Jamie Bulloch (MacLehose)

Three Days and a Life by Pierre Lemaître, tr Frank Wynne (MacLehose)

After the Fire by Henning Mankell, tr Marlaine Delargy (Harvill Secker)

The Frozen Woman by Jon Michelet, tr Don Bartlett (No Exit Press)

Offering to the Storm by Dolores Redondo, tr Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garzía (HarperCollins)

The Accordionist by Fred Vargas, tr Sian Reynolds (Harvill Secker)


The CWA Short Story Dagger

‘The Last Siege of Bothwell Castle’ by Chris Brookmyre

Bloody Scotland (Historic Environment Scotland)

‘Second Son’ by Lee Child

No Middle Name: The Complete Collected Jack Reacher Stories (Bantam Press)

‘Smoking Kills’ by Erin Kelly

“The Body” Killer Women Crime Club Anthology 2, Edited by Susan Opie (Killer Women Ltd)

‘Nemo Me Impune Lacessit’ by Denise Mina

Bloody Scotland (Historic Environment Scotland)

‘Accounting for Murder’ by Christine Poulson

Mystery Tour: CWA Anthology of Short Stories, Edited by Martin Edwards (Orenda Books)

The CWA Dagger in the Library, for crime authors admired by library users and nominated by libraries

Martin Edwards            

Nicci French            

Edward Marston        

Peter May            

Rebecca Tope            

Simon Kernick


The CWA Debut Dagger, for the opening of a crime novel from a writer without a traditional publishing contract

The Eternal Life of Ezra Ben Simeon by Bill Crotty

The Last Googling of Beth Bailly by Luke Melia

Riverine Blood by Joseph James

Original Sins by Linda McLaughlin

Trust Me, I’m Dead by Sherryl Clark