Moyes and Milne-White on Costa judging panels

Author Jojo Moyes, Hungerford Bookshop owner Emma Milne-White and Hammicks’ Sharon Murray are to join the judging panels for this year’s Costa Book Awards.

A total of 568 books have been entered for this year’s awards, with the category shortlists (first novel; novel; biography; poetry; and children’s book) to be announced on 16th November. The category winners will be revealed on 4th January 2012, with the Costa Book of the Year crowned on 24th January.

The prize, established in 1971, celebrates the most enjoyable books of the year by writers based in the UK and Ireland. Last year’s winner of the Costa Book of the Year was Jo Shapcott’s Of Mutability (Faber).

The judges in full:

Costa First Novel Award:

Henry Layte: Owner, The Book Hive Bookshop, Norwich

Emma Lee-Potter: Journalist

Jojo Moyes: Author

Costa Novel Award:

Patrick Gale: Novelist

Emma Milne-White: Owner, The Hungerford Bookshop

Michael Prodger: Critic and former Sunday Telegraph literary editor

Costa Biography Award:

Sue Baker: Reviewer (The Bookseller/

Peter Donaldson: Owner, Red Lion Bookshop, Colchester

Flora Fraser: Writer/historical biographer

Costa Poetry Award:

Sarah Crown: editor, 

William Fiennes: Author

Sharon Murray: director of operations, Hammicks

Costa Children's Book Award:

Helen Fospero: Television presenter

Eleanor Updale: Author

Tony West: Manager, Lion and Unicorn Bookshop, Richmond