Motion to chair Forward Prize

Andrew Motion is to chair the judging panel for the Forward Prizes for Poetry 2011, as the awards celebrate their 20th year.

The former poet laureate will be joined on the judging panel by historian Antonia Fraser, assistant books editor at the Daily Telegraph Sameer Rahim, poet and teacher Leonie Rushforth, and poet and editor of Poetry Review Fiona Sampson.

The Forward Prizes are awarded in three categories: the Forward Prize for Best Collection (worth £10,000), the Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection (worth £5,000) and the Forward Prize for Best Single Poem in memory of Michael Donaghy (worth £1,000).

The closing date for submissions to the prize, which showcases contemporary poetry, is 6th May. The shortlists in each category will be announced in July, and the winners revealed on the 5th October, the eve of National Poetry Day.

An anthology of highly recommended poems, The Forward Book of Poetry 2011 will be published on the 5th October. A special anthology to mark the anniversary of the prize, Poems of the Decade, will also be published.