Morpurgo wins Red House award

Michael Morpurgo has won the Red House Children's Book Award 2011 for Shadow (HarperCollinsChildren's Books) becoming the only author to win the award three times.

Angela McAllister and Alison Edgson's Yuck! That's not a Monster (Little Tiger Press) won the category for younger children, while Alex Scarrow's TimeRiders (Puffin) clinched the older readers' category.

Nearly 160,000 votes were cast by children and young adults. The award is run by the Federation of Children's Book Groups.