'More inclusive' Kim Scott Walwyn Prize to return in 2011

<p>The Kim Scott Walwyn Prize, which was set up to recognise the professional achievements of women in publishing, is to skip a year, with the organisers saying that they need to rethink its criteria. The &pound;3,000 annual prize, which was founded in 2003, will not be given in 2010, but an award is being planned for 2011.</p><p>A spokesperson from independent charity Booktrust, which administers the prize, said that the idea was to make it &quot;more inclusive&quot;. The committee is &quot;currently exploring ways of expanding the prize, to recognise both achievement and potential amongst women in the industry&quot;. She confirmed there was no financial reason for missing a year.<br /><br />Applicants for the prize currently must include a &quot;short CV of not more than 300 words&quot; plus a &quot;statement of achievement&quot; of &quot;no more than 1,500 words&quot;, as well as two referees. Past winners include Kathy Rooney, Bloomsbury Publishing m.d., agent Clare Alexander, and Annette Thomas, Nature Publishing Group m.d.<br /><br />The prize was set up in 2003 in memory of the late OUP publishing director Walwyn. The current committee is chaired by former OUP marketing director Kate Jury, along with academic and writer Gillian Beer, literary agent Catherine Clarke, publisher Denise Johnstone-Burt, writer Hermione Lee, critic Fiona Maddocks, writer Francine Stock, and former OUP production director Sarah O&rsquo;Brien.</p>