MJ buys debut in six-figure pre-empt

MJ buys debut in six-figure pre-empt

Michael Joseph has acquired a debut novel byUS author Alexandra Oliva in a six-figure pre-empt ahead of the rest of the world.

Editorial director Jessica Leeke bought UK and Commonwealth rights to the book, titled The Last One, from Caspian Dennis at Abner Stein on behalf of Lucy Carson at the Friedrich Agency. The book has since sold in 17 countries and was the subject of a major auction in the US, where it was acquired by Ballantine Bantam Dell.

The Last One is a thriller that follows a woman who competes on a survivalist reality TV show, only to return to an actual reality that has drastically changed.

Leeke said: "This is a whipsmart thriller for our times: compelling, taut, well-plotted with an impressively well-drawn cast. For fans of “The Truman Show” and Station Eleven, this is a novel that both thrills and moves as it examines the role that media plays in our perception of what is real, and how easily we are all manipulated.”

Michael Joseph will publish The Last One as a major lead title for Michael Joseph in spring 2016.