Mina eyes third Theakstons crime award

Mina eyes third Theakstons crime award

Novelist Denise Mina is in the running to win the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award for a third year in the row with her book, The Red Road (Orion).

Her book is one of six on the shortlist for the crime award, which will be presented at the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate later this month.

Mina won the £3,000 prize in 2012 with The End of Wasp Season and 2013 with Gods and Beasts (both Orion). The Red Road focuses on DI Alex Morrow,, and follows a case fraught with corruption that centres on Glasgow on the night of Princess Diana's death.

Also on the shortlist are Malcolm Mackay's debut, The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter (Pan), the first in a trilogy set in Glasgow's underworld and Peter May's The Chessmen (Quercus) concluding his Isle of Lewis trilogy, set on the Scottish islands; Belinda Bauer's Rubbernecker (Black Swan) follows Patrick Fort, a medical student with Asperger's Syndrome, while Elly Griffiths' Dying Fall (Quercus) is the fifth book in her Ruth Galloway series about a forensic archaeologist. The list is completed with Stav Sherez's Eleven Days (Faber), which spans four decades and two continents.

All the books will be featured in a four-week campaign in 600 WH Smith stories around the country.

The award is judged by Simon Theakston (pictured, with Mina), executive director of T&R Theakston Ltd, festival chair Steve Mosby, Radio Times' Alison Graham and head of fiction at WH Smith, Dave Swillman. The public will also have a say in the voting, and can make their choice at www.theakstons.co.uk/ The voting will open on 3rd July and close on 15th July. The award in run in association with T&R Theakston Ltd, WH Smith and Radio Times.

Mark Lawson will present the awards on 17th July, and also give out the outstanding contribution to crime fiction award to Lynda La Plante.

Simon Theakston said: "The Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award was created a decade ago to celebrate the very best in the genre, as this remarkable shortlist shows. It’s also a great honour to be recognising the extraordinary achievements of Lynda La Plante.”