McDermid and Bauer make Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel shortlist

McDermid and Bauer make Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel shortlist

Six authors have made the shortlist for this year's Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year award with previous winners Val McDermid and Belinda Bauer both recognised. 

The shortlisted six were whittled down from a longlist of 18 titles with the £3,000 prize, now in its 15th year, created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction.

Belinda Bauer, a previous winner of the Crime Novel of the Year Award, enters the shortlist with her 2018 Man Booker longlisted Snap (Transworld), alongside multiple-award winner Val McDermid's latest, Broken Ground (Little, Brown Book Group).

Courtroom drama Thirteen by Steve Cavanagh (Hachette) has also been nominated and Mick Herron, whose widely-acclaimed Jackson Lamb novels have been shortlisted three times for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year, is back in the running with the fifth in the series, London Rules (John Murray Press).

2018 McIlvanney Prize winner Liam McIllvanney makes the shortlist with The Quaker (HarperCollins) and Khurrum Rahman rounds off the shortlist with his first novel, East of Hounslow (HarperCollins). 

Executive director of T&R Theakston, Simon Theakston, said: “All shortlisted authors are deserving of the title, but there’s only one Novel of the Year. The public vote will be invaluable, readers have real power, so I’d encourage everyone to make their voice heard - it’s free and simple to vote online. It will be fascinating to see which of these remarkable titles prevails, all are simply outstanding.”

Shortlisted titles will feature in a dedicated online campaign with W H Smith and a nationwide library promotion. The overall winner will be decided by the panel of judges, alongside a public vote that opens on 1st July and closes on 14th July at The winner of the award, run in partnership with T&R Theakston Ltd, W H Smith, and the Mail on Sunday, will be announced on the opening night of the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival on 18th July. The awards ceremony, hosted by Mark Lawson, will also reveal the recipient of the 2019 Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award.