McCarthy wins PEN/Saul Bellow Award

<p>Cormac McCarthy has won the biennial PEN/Saul Bellow award for lifetime achievement in American literature, which comes with a $25,000 (&pound;16,600) prize.</p><p>The author of <em>The Road</em> and <em>No Country for Old Men</em> is the second writer to be awarded the prize, which goes to &quot;a distinguished living American author of fiction whose body of work in English possesses qualities of excellence, ambition, and scale of achievement over a sustained career which place him or her in the highest rank of American literature&quot;.</p><p>Philip Roth, who won the inaugural prize in 2007, sat on the judging panel alongside Claudia Roth Pierpont and Benjamin Taylor. </p><p>PEN announced several other literary prizes on Tuesday (5th May), including the $35,000 Robert Bingham Fellowship for a debut fiction writer, won by Donald Ray Pollack for his collection <em>Knockemstiff</em> and the $10,000 John Kenneth Galbraith Award for Nonfiction, which went to Steve Coll for <em>The Bin Ladens: An Arabian Family in the American Century.</em></p>