Man Booker International Prize finalists revealed

Man Booker International Prize finalists revealed

Ten authors have been named as finalists for the Man Booker International Prize 2015, representing countries including Hungary, Guadeloupe, and the Republic of Congo.

Each writer is now in the running to win a £60,000 prize, with the winner announced in a ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London on 19th May.

The nominated writers are César Aira (Argentina), Hoda Barakat (Lebanon),  Maryse Condé (Guadeloupe), Mia Couto (Mozambique), Amitav Ghosh (India), Fanny Howe (United States of America), Ibrahim al-Koni (Libya), László Krasznahorkai (Hungary), Alain Mabanckou (Republic of Congo) and  Marlene van Niekerk (South Africa).

Chair of the judges Professor Marina Warner said: "The judges have had an exhilarating experience reading for this prize; we have ranged across the world and entered the vision of writers who offer an extraordinary variety of experiences. Fiction can enlarge the world for us all and stretch our understanding and our sympathy. The novel today is in fine form: as a field of inquiry, a tribunal of history, a map of the heart, a probe of the psyche, a stimulus to thought, a well of pleasure and a laboratory of language. Truly, we feel closer to the tree of knowledge."

Warner is joined on the judging panel by novelist Nadeem Aslam, writer and academic Elleke Boehmer, New York Review classics editorial director Edwin Frank, and professor of arabic and comparative literature, Wen-chin Ouyang.

Jonathan Taylor, Chairman of the Booker Prize Foundation, said: "This is a most interesting and enlightening list of finalists. It brings attention to writers from far and wide, so many of whom are in translation. As a result our reading lists will surely be hugely expanded."

The Man Booker International Prize is awarded every two years to a fiction author who has either published in English or whose work is generally available in translation. It rewards an author's body of work rather than an individual book.

Previous winners include Lydia Davis, Philip Roth and Alice Munro.