Little, Brown signs six-figure deal with debut author Rous

Little, Brown signs six-figure deal with debut author Rous

Little, Brown has bought two books from debut author Emma Rous for six-figures.

Emma Beswetherick, associate publisher at Little, Brown Book Group, acquired world rights to two books by Rous in a six-figure pre-empt from Rebecca Ritchie at AM Heath.

Rous’ first book, Summerbourne, will be published under the Piatkus imprint in trade paperback and e-book around Christmas 2018, with the paperback coming early summer 2019. Little, Brown has already received four five-figure opening offers from Germany for the first book, Summerbourne.

Beswetherick said: "Everyone went wild for this book at Little, Brown, so we are over the moon to add Emma Rous to our growing list of upmarket commercial fiction writers. Summerbourne is a tightly plotted gothic mystery of dark family secrets, with brilliantly drawn characters and a page-turning narrative. I have always wanted to buy a mystery revolving around a house, where past transgressions come to light in the present. This is the best I have read in this popular area of the market – perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore."

Ritchie added: "Emma Rous is a really exciting talent and from the first reading of Summerbourne, glued to the page as dark family secrets ripple out to dramatic consequences in the present day, I knew that it would be the perfect fit for Emma Beswetherick’s brilliant list."

Rous said that the deal is a "dream come true" and that she is "thrilled that the whole team at Little, Brown is committed to helping the book reach as many readers as possible."