Franklin and Andornino promoted to publishing directors at W&N

Franklin and Andornino promoted to publishing directors at W&N

Lettice Franklin and Federico Andornino have been promoted to publishing directors at Weidenfeld & Nicolson. 

Previously editorial director, Franklin’s authors include Halle Butler, Niamh Campbell, Naoise Dolan, Charlie Gilmour, Claire Lombardo, Paraic O’Donnell and Sam Riviere. Franklin joined the imprint in 2017 after four years at Fourth Estate and is also spearheading the imprint’s newly launched W&N Essentials, showcasing "classic books for modern readers".  

Andornino (pictured right), also previously an editorial director and a 2019 Bookseller Rising Star, joined the imprint in 2017 after four years at Two Roads. His authors include Clare Chambers, Paolo Giordano, Meg Mason, Téa Obreht, Melody Razak, Carlos Ruiz Zafón, Charlotte Wood and Jacqueline Woodson.  

Orion said of the promotions: “Over the past three years Franklin and Andornino have taken Weidenfeld & Nicolson’s fiction list from strength to strength: for the second year in a row two W&N novels have been longlisted for the Women’s Prize for Fiction – the Sunday Times bestselling debut Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan, acquired by Franklin, and Clare Chambers’ word-of-mouth hit Small Pleasures, acquired by Andornino.” 

Jenny Lord, Weidenfeld & Nicolson’s publisher, said: “The contribution Lettice and Fede have made to the W&N list cannot be overstated and their promotions are richly deserved. Literary dynamos, together they have transformed our fiction list beyond recognition and 2020’s successes speak volumes for their considerable skill for spotting and nurturing literary talent.”