Lammy and Lewis make Parliamentary Book Awards shortlist

Lammy and Lewis make Parliamentary Book Awards shortlist

Books by David Lammy, Helen Lewis and The Secret Barrister have made the 2020 Parliamentary Book Awards shortlist.

The awards were launched by the Booksellers Association and the Publishers Association in 2016 to champion the best of political writing and recognise the important link between politics and the book world. Books are awarded across three categories and they are voted for by parliamentarians.

In the Best Biography, Memoir or Autobiography by a Parliamentarian category, Ernest Bevin: Labour's Churchill by Andrew Adonis (Biteback) is up against Long Way Home: Love, Life, Death, and Everything In Between by Dan Jarvis (Little, Brown) and Ayes & Ears: A Survivor's Guide to Westminster by David Amess (Luath Press).

For Best Non-Biographical Book by a Parliamentarian, The Art of Disruption: A Manifesto For Real Change by former Sheffield mayor Magid Magid (Bonnier) is in the running alongside The Glamour Boys: The Secret Story of the Rebels who Fought for Britain to Defeat Hitler by Chris Bryant (Bloomsbury) and Tribes: A Search for Belonging in a Divided Society by David Lammy (Constable)

Finally, the Best Political Book by a Non-Parliamentarian shortlist features Fake Law: The Truth About Justice in an Age of Lies by The Secret Barrister (Picador), The Prime Ministers: 55 Leaders, 55 Authors, 300 Years of History by Iain Dale (Hodder) and Difficult Women: A History of Feminism in 11 Fights by Helen Lewis (Vintage).

Meryl Halls, m.d. of the Booksellers Association, said: “The Parliamentary Book Awards celebrate the excellence and variety of political writing, and this shortlist certainly reflects these qualities. With books on feminist history, community activism, political tribalism and more, the shortlist demonstrates the range of subjects encompassed by political writing. We look forward to seeing which titles the parliamentarians vote for when the winners are announced in March.”

Publishers were invited to nominate titles and authors for the awards, with booksellers selecting the shortlists. Voting is now open for parliamentarians to decide the winner in each category. The award winners will be announced on 12th March 2021.

Stephen Lotinga, Chief Executive of the Publishers Association, said: "The Parliamentary Book Awards were created to celebrate brilliant political writing and this year's shortlist offers us that in abundance. Between them, the books on this shortlist shine a light on some of the lesser-remembered figures in our political history, give insight into the inner-workings of Westminster, offer inspiration, and address the most important issues of our age—equality and polarisation.

"The announcement of this year’s winners will be held online which will allow more people to share in our celebrations of these important books, their authors, publishers and booksellers.”